Leadership and Staff

Jeffrey R. Dion, Executive Director, National Compassion Fund

Jeffrey Dion

Jeffrey Dion, Executive Director of the National Compassion Fund has championed crime victims’ rights for more than two decades. Dion began advocating for victims at the age of 14, when in 1982 his 23-year-old sister, Paulette, was murdered by a serial killer. He went on to pursue a career in law to help other crime victims. In honor of his sister’s memory, Mr. Dion lobbied the Virginia General Assembly, resulting in 13 victims’ rights bills being enacted into law. He joined the National Center in 1998 and also heads its affiliate, the National Crime Victim Bar Association. He is a nationally recognized expert with strong ties to direct service providers and leaders in the field of victim services. As a survivor of childhood sexual abuse, Mr. Dion also serves on the Board of Directors of his local rape crisis center and is a former board member and current advisory council member for the National Association to Prevent Sexual Abuse of Children.

Board Members

Marc C. Lenahan, Chair

Marc is a Dallas attorney licensed in Texas, North Dakota, and the United States District Court for the District of Columbia.  He is the owner of the Lenahan Law Firm (DallasSevereInjuryLawyer.com).  Marc’s time & expenses in serving the National Compassion Fund are entirely donated.

Daniel Gordon, Vice President

Bethzaida Garcia, Secretary

Keith S. Franz, Board Member

Keith has devoted his legal career to assisting victims of catastrophic events throughout the United States. For that effort he was awarded the prestigious Frank Carrington Champion of Civil Justice Award by the National Crime Victim Bar Association in recognition of his work as Lead Counsel in Federal Court for the victims of the September 11 terrorist attacks. Keith provides considerable pro bono assistance for important social causes, including the National Compassion Fund. He is a member of the Executive Committee of the National Center for Victims of Crime. Keith is a partner in the Baltimore firm Azrael, Franz, Schwab, Lipowitz and Solter, LLC (azraelfranz.com) and is admitted to practice before the Maryland Bar, the U.S. District Court and the U.S. Supreme Court.


Dan Levey, Mass Violence Relief Team Lead

Toni Lawrimore, Mass Violence Relief Specialist

Javier Nava, Mass Violence Relief Specialist